A new journey

Hi again,
I have decided to make an art journal. I have never had an inkling to do one, but when life changes so do your behaviours sometimes.
What is an art journal? I am not completely sure. I have googled it and seen some fancy works, lots of pictures, lots of abstract art, all wonderful.
My decision today to do an art journal was brought about by a significant change in my life.. NO, not menopause… LOL… Anyway I decided that I would do a page a day, starting today, to just use one word and then to write on that page all the feelings I have about that word.
I am not going to post my first page here as it is very personal, but to describe what I did for my very first journal page is simple.

Hmm step back a minute or 10. Firstly I thought, I am angry, so perhaps I should get out the reds and blacks and paint my background with that. Forward 15 mins and some thinking about what word I wanted to use in my first art journal and I thought, no, red and black background is not it. I chose a cool blue and yellow and pulled out some paper, and slapped that blue and yellow down. Heat set it, THEN got out the RED and wrote the word in the middle of the page, then around that word I added sentences that meant something to me, extending from that word…You know what??? It helped… I’m not so angry now!
I then flipped the page over (oh yeah, the back of the paper had some splashes of paint on it, quite by accident) and then I wrote on the back, like a diary…Sheesh I almost feel like I am back being a teenager and starting a diary again.! But what the heck, it helped me, just to paint, to write and to get out the anger that I had. I cried a lot while doing it, but it was worth it.
Hopefully tomorrow’s journal word will be a happier one!
Now, tell me, do you art journal? Does yours include pictures etc. Have you ever done one that is just a word?

Til tomorrow!

Sharon
xx

Edit.. LOL.. I found a good explanation about art journalling… thought I would add it here.

Personal journals are like diaries. You use them to tell your own life story, and sometimes to sort through issues and challenges. Your diary may be handwritten or typed. You can illustrate it with sketches, photos, or mementos… or allow your words to tell the entire story.

“Art journaling” is illustrating your personal journal or diary. You can use sketches, photos, paintings, or collage. You can glue in receipts, newspaper headlines or clippings, entries from the TV Guide for that day, or… anything visual, really.
Explanation on Journalling found at Journalling Arts

3 thoughts on “A new journey

  1. Hi… art journal is a great process.. been kind of doing it but no restrictions or rules… like a therapist..it is there when I need it!
    I do have a scrapbook project ongoing… one little word.. for this year. again, no rules, when a situation comes up that demands application of my one little word, or teaches me a lesson about it, I use the book to solidify or work through it.

  2. Great ideas Linda. I think I should have said that I will do a word when I feel the need, not a word a day. I’m just not that wordy that I would have a word a day I guess! I did do a scrapbook page a number of years ago with just words. I still look back now and read it and it really is memorable to me, knowing how I felt at the time, when I did scrap it. You have some great ideas. Thanks for your comment!

  3. welcome to the world of art journaling! I love it, and try to spend a lot of time in my art journal book. My daughter has an art journal also. You can see ours and lots of ideas at my blog http://dianemarra.typepad.com/
    thanks for your paper making video, I made some this weekend, and put them on a tag. thanks for sharing the how to!

Leave a Reply

